‘A love foretold’- the official soundtrack!

bjork

Bjork Gudmundsdottir

The first words of my story, A love foretoldhad been in my mind for years.  It was a tale I told myself from time to time, polishing the thought and re-examining the emotions.  Going further back, I release that the idea expressed in those opening lines- the incontestable certainty of attraction- was a concept I had expressed much earlier in my life.  In my early twenties I wrote a song along the same lines:

“The first time I saw your face, I knew what would happen to us.”

That’s the idea that triggered the book.  I set the story in Birmingham and it mirrors (quite closely) the events and characters of my life at that time in the early 1990s, whilst being very much a work of my imagination.  Real events, real bands and real songs shadow the the fictional events, so to give the story more background and meaning, I have prepared a soundtrack, featuring links to YouTube audio and video clips for a range of artists mentioned in the book or songs that have an especial resonance for me.  These include Primal Scream, Ride, Lush, Polly Harvey, EMF, Carter the Unstoppable Sex Machine, the Manics, Cud, Blur, The Wonderstuff, , Bjork ad Delicious Monster. 

Visit the separate page on this blog site to listen to my official soundtrack to A love foretold: A love foretold- a soundtrack.  

Full details of my writing and blogging on music can be found through my website.

One thought on “‘A love foretold’- the official soundtrack!

Leave a Reply

